The Maynard Institute Staff: A Model of Cultural Diversity within the Workplace

Send by email

Evelyn Hsu, Executive Director

Evelyn Hsu is the executive director of the Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education. She joined the institute in 2004 as director of programs. Most recently, she was senior director for programs and operations. Hsu is a 1979 graduate of the institute’s Summer Program for Minority Journalists. She worked as a reporter at the San Francisco Chronicle and The Washington Post. She was an associate director of the American Press Institute and a member of the faculty of the Poynter Institute. She is a past national president of the Asian American Journalists Association.


Richard Prince

Richard Prince writes "Richard Prince's Journal-isms," a three-times-a-week column on diversity issues in the news media, for the Web site of the Maynard Institute of Journalism Education (

He worked as a reporter (1968-1977) and part-time copy editor (1999-2008) for the Washington Post, and was founding editor of Black College Wire, a news service for black college students ( that aims to improve college newspapers and increase their frequency.

He chairs the Diversity Committee of the Association of Opinion Journalists, and for many years, chaired the Media Monitoring Committee of the National Association of Black Journalists. He continues to moderate the NABJ's listserve.

Prince was an editorial writer, columnist and op-ed editor at the Democrat and Chronicle in Rochester, N.Y., where he worked from 1979 to 1994. There, he became a founding member of the William Monroe Trotter Group, an association of African American newspaper columnists.

In 2013, Prince received the Ida B. Wells Award from the National Association of Black Journalists and the Medill School at Northwestern University, “given to an individual who has made outstanding efforts to make newsrooms and news coverage more accurately reflect the diversity of the communities they serve.”

In 2010, Prince was honored with the Robert McGruder Award from Kent State University for his promotion of diversity in the news business, as well as a P.E.N. Oakland award.